Book Review: Lillian’s Right to Vote: A Celebration of the Voting Rights Act of 1965

Geez I love books. I have a soft spot for children’s books because they impacted my life so much and I truly believe the imagination they invite build strong girls and boys. I love books that bring important pieces of history alive and motivate me to be better and more compassionate. That’s a tall order, but LIllian’s RIght to Vote: A Celebration of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 delivered.

Via Amazon

Via Amazon

I’m in the process of figuring out how to submit a children’s book manuscript to a publisher and so I’ve been doing some research. FYI “research” means going to the library and reading a bunch of children’s books. It’s a good time. I was perusing and the cover of Lillian’s RIght to Vote caught my eye. I’m fascinated with the current U.S. election (in a “can’t not look at the train wreck” kind of way), so I was immediately interested.This book is about an elderly woman on her way to vote. As she travels, she relives her family’s experience with voting and the trials they went through. There were things I remember from school, but this was such a personal recounting. It made me sad, angry, and proud to read about the history of voting in this country. I loved her encouragement towards others to vote as well and reminded me not to ignore my responsibility to be a good citizen even though I’m utterly underwhelmed with the election. Plus, the art is great. I think this would be a great choice to read with your kids, classroom, or any other young person you know to help them build their character and understanding of what our country has gone through. A LOT of potential for some great conversation. Go bring some power into the lives of the kids you know!

So, go check it out at your library. Or you might like it so much you buy it. Here’s the Amazon link if you want to read more about it and check out all the other

Save

Leave a Reply

