Setting Goals with the Terminator

School starts for me in one week and I am pumped. Like, Arnold pumped.

arnold

Via Natural Bodybuilding Tips   Yeah, that’s totally natural….

Ok, so that’s pretty much all the Terminator has to do with this post. That picture just reminds me that superhuman things are possible. I took the summer off and I am ready to get back at it. My husband and I have started looking over material from our recent classes to refresh our memories, and I got a little giddy as I practiced the phonetic alphabet.

Now that I’m a third of the way through my prerequisites, there are a few things I’ve recognized that could use some work. I’m a big believer in goal-setting and trying to improve, so here are my goals for Fall 2016:

Actually use my planner. Oh man I am the worst. I looove buying planners and thinking about being organized, but I inevitably fail at using the dang thing. I lose it, or more likely get it stuck underneath some pile of papers on my kitchen table. But with balancing school, my new job, and my family–I really need to stick with it this time. I’m almost 30 years old, time to grow up Katie and use a freaking planner!

Austin Powers memes are always on point.

Austin Powers memes are always on point. Via imgFlip

Don’t procrastinate assignments. I think that is a hard habit to break from college and high school. I didn’t have to work too hard to get pretty good grades still, which fed into a tendency to procrastinate and not give things my best work. It’s not that I’m avoiding the work itself, I just have a lot going on. And I’m forgetful. Hence the planner goal above.

Be present where I am. Like a lot of people, I have some great things going on in my life. Family, work, school–all good things. With everything going on, it can be easy to lose focus on what you’re doing because you’re thinking about all the other stuff in life. My goal is to be with those I’m with. So when I’m at work, I need to focus on helping the students I advise. When I’m with my daughter, I need to focus on her and being mama. During my study time, I need to study! When I’m with my husband, pay attention to him and remember I’m still a wife and he’s still my best friend. Of course there is going to be overlap. My daughter’s safety is allllways on my mind. But there is definitely room for improvement.

Now I want ice cream. Via someecards.com

Now I want ice cream. Via someecards.com

So that’s it for this semester. I’m sure I could come up with more, but I think these will make the biggest difference for me this semester. I want to make the most of my goals without overwhelming myself, so three it is! As you make goals for school, work, or other life things, keep them realistic, but challenging and impactful.

Just in case you forgot, I’m pumped that school is starting.

Seriously, how is he human?

Leave a Reply

